Authentic Mexican Food at El Purepecha

I was really craving Mexican food last weekend and decided to do something about it.  After browsing Yelp, I found a small restaurant in my neighborhood called El Purepecha and decided to give it a try.

When my sister and I first arrived at the restaurant, we almost missed it.  It blends right in and would never know it existed.  Parking can be a little tricky, but if you’re lucky you can parking a couple blocks away.

Once we entered, we realized that the ambience inside makes up for the hole in the wall exterior. El Purepecha is decorated in a Mexican style with vibrant colors.  There are only a few tables and the counter space to eat.

IMG_0531.JPG

We started off with the chips and cheese dip. Since I love homemade salsa, I asked for a side of medium salsa. I received the tastiest salsa verde I’ve ever had!

IMG_0532.JPG

For our second course, my sister and I both ordered the Burrito de Frijoles Beans. The burrito was very heavy.  It filled with guacamole, cheese, pico de gallo, rice and beans. It’s definitely the best bean burrito I’ve had in Philly so far!

Our meal was very reasonably priced. I believe we paid $20 for everything we ordered.

I would highly recommend visiting El Purepecha if you’re in Northern Liberties and want Mexican food.  It’s a great place to get a quick bite to eat before heading to a concert at Union Transfer.

I know I will definitely be back here to try their fish tacos and get more of that delicious salsa verde!

Grade: A

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

